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State of Rhode Island
Gina M. Raimondo
Governor
EXECUTIVE ORDER
20-104
December 10, 2020

NINETY-NINTH SUPPLEMENTAL EMERGENCY DECLARATION -
AMENDED QUARANTINE AND ISOLATION ORDER

WHEREAS, on March 9, 2020, I declared a state of emergency due to the dangers

to health and life posed by COVID-19 and that declaration is in effect until at least
December 31, 2020;

WHEREAS, despite progress in some key areas, the State continues to suffer from
the effects of the pandemic;

WHEREAS, the State continues to impose quarantine restrictions on all persons
arriving in the State from locations with high community spread rates as defined by the
Rhode Island Department of Health (“RIDOH”) for non-work-related purposes and from
outside the 50 states or the District of Columbia;

WHEREAS, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (“CDC”) has stated
that COVID-19 symptoms may appear as many as fourteen (14) days after exposure;

WHEREAS, the Director of the CDC has confirmed that a significant number of
individuals infected with COVID-19 do not show symptoms;
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WHEREAS, COVID-19 is contagious and persons who are asymptomatic can
spread the virus; and

WHEREAS, the CDC has recently provided acceptable alternatives to shorten
quarantine based on local circumstances and resources.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GINA M. RAIMONDO, by virtue of the authority vested
in me as Governor of the State of Rhode Island, pursuant to Article IX of the Rhode Island
Constitution and the Rhode Island General Laws, including, but not limited to, Title 30,
Chapter 15, and Title 23, Chapter 8, do hereby order and direct the following:

1. Any person who has been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed
health care practitioner by assessment of symptoms or by laboratory testing
must immediately self-isolate' in accordance with RIDOH guidance:
https://health.ri.gov/publications/guidance/COVID-19-Quarantine-and-
Isolation-Guidance-by-Population.pdf (“COVID-19 Quarantine and Isolation
Guidance by Population”).

2. Except for persons living in congregate care settings, any person (a) who has
been in known close contact (within 6 feet for more than 15 minutes within a
24-hour period) with a person who has been clinically diagnosed with COVID-
19 by a licensed health care practitioner by assessment of symptoms or by
laboratory testing or (b) who has been contacted by RIDOH to inform them
that they were a close contact with a confirmed positive case must self-monitor
for symptoms of COVID-19 for 14 days following that contact and immediately
self-quarantine® for 10 days following that contact, unless the person obtains a
negative COVID-19 test on day § or later following that contact and self-
quarantines until day 7 or later following that contact.

3. Any person living in a congregate care setting (a) who has been in known close
contact (within 6 feet for more than 15 minutes within a 24-hour period) with a
person who has been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed health
care practitioner by assessment of symptoms or by laboratory testing or (b) who
has been contacted by RIDOH to inform them that they were a close contact

! Isolation separates sick people with a contagious disease from people who are not sick.

2 Quarantine separates and restricts the movement of people who were exposed to a
contagious disease to see if they become sick.
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with a confirmed positive case must self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19
and immediately self-quarantine for 14 days following that contact.

4. The self-quarantine restriction described in paragraph 2 of this Order shall not
apply to the following categories of workers while they are at work or traveling
to or from work: staff at healthcare facilities, nursing home facilities, assisted
living facilities, public health sector, public safety sector, social service
providers, election work, homeless shelters, group homes, correctional facilities,
and detention centers provided that these workers follow RIDOH guidance for
COVID-19 Quarantine and Isolation Guidance by Population. When not at
work, these categories of workers must self-quarantine in accordance with
paragraph 2 of this Order.

5. Instructions for self-isolation and self-quarantine and a description of COVID-
19 symptoms can be found at the RIDOH website:
https://health.ri.gov/diseases/ncov2019/

6. I hereby authorize and direct the Director of RIDOH to take any action and
make and enforce any rules and regulations necessary to implement this Order.

7. The Director of RIDOH is further authorized to assess civil penalties, and enact
rules and regulations in furtherance of such penalties, for violation of this
Executive Order. Such civil penalties shall be in addition to any other penalties
authorized by law.

This Order supersedes Executive Order 20-71. It shall take effect immediately and
shall remain in full force and effect until December 31, 2020 unless renewed, modified or
terminated by a subsequent Executive Order.

So Ordered:
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Gina M. RaimoncTo/
Governor




